Grandeur to Garbage Dump

I was walking along a gorgeous stretch of beach in the caribbean, enjoying and admiring the beauty of nature. There were wonderful delicate pink and purple shells strewn about the sand.

shells

The ocean was a beautiful blue-green with gentle waves rushing onto the shore. The sounds, smells and sights were such a pleasure until I saw this…..

and much more garbage like tires and all sorts of plastic bottles and things. It really was quite sad and it made me kind of angry that this wonderful natural resource should be treated this way.

I wondered why people would just throw their garbage anywhere like in the ocean or on a beach. I cannot imagine being that thoughtless and just thinking the whole world is my garbage can.

Then it occured to me that perhaps all this garbage was disposed of properly by the person who thought it was going someplace that no one would see or a place that wouldn’t harm the environment. Maybe some of the plastic was even recycled by the person but never made it to the proper place.

I have read that most of the items we put in our recycle bins just end up in a landfill. There also could have been storms that blew it from the curb or a proper disposal bin. So I guess to really make a difference in the reduction of pollution everywhere we need to reduce the amount of waste we throw away.

That is why I have removed the plastic wrapping from my soaps and try to have as little packaging as possible for them and my other products. The less garbage we create the less of a chance there is that it will end up somewhere like this tranquil stretch of beach.

I hope others feel the same way.

Just blowing bubbles.

About lavenderlin

I am the owner of Scenter of the Mind, a spiritually evolved, all natural, handcrafted soap company. My mission is to help protect your health and the environment, support your body, uplift your spirit, and make bath time more fun by sharing my creations of soap and herbal products. Visit my blog at www.scenterofthemind.com/blog
This entry was posted in General, Natural Soaps and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment